Mazzuca named CJHL’s Chairman of the Board

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) announced Friday its Executive Committee for the 2021-22 season.

Robert Mazzuca (NOJHL) has been appointed CJHL Chairman of the Board for the upcoming campaign while Marty Savoy (OJHL) and Ryan Bartoshyk (AJHL) will serve as Vice-Chairs.

Continuing his role on the CJHL executive committee, as treasurer, is Bill Chow (SJHL).

Meanwhile, Brent Ladds returns in his position as CJHL President.

Joining the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League back in 2011, Mazzuca has guided them for the past decade.

Under his tenure since taking over the top position in the NOJHL, he helped increase the number of member teams to 12, which is an all-time high.

Mazzuca also created a Concussion Safety Program for his league, which was the first of its kind in Junior A hockey in Canada. He likewise spearheaded the establishment of the Talk Today program with the NOJHL in 2015, in partnership Canadian Mental Health Association.

This multi-faceted CMHA program promotes positive mental health while supporting individuals who may find themselves in crisis and has grown exponentially across the CJHL.

His other efforts see him serving on the Junior Committee and act as Chairman of the Competition Committee with the Ontario Hockey Federation.

“It is truly an honour to be selected by my peers as CJHL Chairman of the Board,” offered Mazzuca in discussing the appointment.  “We’ve all dealt with trying times the past couple of seasons, as part of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic,” he added.

“However, my colleagues, staff and I, along with our partners at Hockey Canada and the National Hockey League, as well as the multitude of dedicated volunteers across the CJHL’s Jr. A platform, aim to get out of this on the right end and safely return to the ice in full form in the not-too-distant future as we look to culminate the upcoming season at the 2022 Centennial Cup, presented by Tim Hortons, next May, in Estevan, Sask.”  finalized Mazzuca.

2021-22 CJHL Executive Committee

Chairman of the Board
Robert Mazzuca (NOJHL)

Ryan Bartoshyk (AJHL)
Marty Savoy (OJHL)

Bill Chow (SJHL)

CJHL Member League Representatives
Steven Dykeman, President (MHL)
Kevin Figsby, Commissioner (LHJAAAQ)
Kevin Abrams, Commissioner (CCHL)
Marty Savoy, Commissioner (OJHL)
Robert Mazzuca, Commissioner (NOJHL)
Darrin Nicholas, Commissioner (SIJHL)
Kevin Saurette, Commissioner (MJHL)
Bill Chow, President (SJHL)
Ryan Bartoshyk, Commissioner (AJHL)

ABOUT THE CJHL: The Canadian Junior Hockey League represents 117 teams and well over 2,500 players in the nine sanctioned Jr. A leagues across the country, ranging from Nova Scotia, across to Alberta as well as in pockets of the northern United States.